Comité National Français des Mathématiciens

Who are we?

In 1952, when the International Mathematical Union (IMU) has been recreated, France was one if its first members. In accordance with the IMU directives, a national comity, the CNFM, has been created.

The Comité National Français de Mathématiciens is an association which is ruled by a law from 1901, it has at most 26 members.

The CNFM was also in charge of the French candidacy for the organization in Paris of the International Congress of Mathematicians for the year 2022.

Currently, 18 of its members are appointed for 4 years by the Académie des Sciences (4 delegates), INSMI (4 delegates), the Société Mathématique de France (4 delegates), the Société de Mathématiques Appliquées et Industrielles (4 delegates), the Société Française de Statistique (1 delegate) and Inria (1 delegate); 5 other members have been coopted.

As a national comity of the IMU, the CNFM has among other things the following statutory tasks:

Besides these tasks, CNFM sponsors, with support of the Ministère de l'Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche, the participation of mathematicians from France to the lCM every four years and, if possible, to the ICIAM congress (for applied and industrial mathematics) and to the ICMI congress (for mathematical instruction, the French branch of ICMI being CFEM).

Composition (as of March 2020):

Members appointed by the Académie: Jean-Michel Coron, Maxim Kontsevich, Jean-François Le Gall (Vice-Président), Cédric Villani.

Members appointed by the INSMI: Pierre Calka, Anne-Laure Dalibard, Lucy Moser-Jauslin, Joël Rivat.

Members appointed by the SMF: Anna Cadoret, Indira Chatterji, Marc Peigné, Bertrand Rémy (Président).

Members appointed by the SMAI: Edwige Godlewski, Laurence Halpern, Yvon Maday, Denis Talay.

Member appointed by the SFdS: Pascal Massart.

Member appointed by Inria: Marie Doumic. 

Coopted members: Viviane Durand-Guerrier, Charles Francès (Secrétaire), Jean-Frédéric Gerbeau, Étienne Ghys, Fabrice Planchon.